PROXMOX VE 5 install without cd with zfs (grub boot iso or zfs custom part ?!)

arno

Mar 1, 2018
france
Hello,

I'm studying how to migrate an old dedicated production server with a LAMP stack and a lot of websites.
After testing LXD and LXC on zfs, i found proxmox to fit my needs.

(i set 1 haproxy/fw container with 30 apache container and 3 mariadb container)
My goal to this migration is improving speed / security-isolation / easymanagment

I have tested proxmox on a bare-metal with 2 ssd at the hosting company Vultr with a software RAID-1 on ext4 pre-ready partitions and the following how to (install proxmox on debian stretch)

It works well but i saw that software raid 1 is not recommanded and i cannot use ZFS.
Vultr bare metal cannot boot on an ISO and i cannot mount a cdrom (bios is overrided)

So my last options are:
- Install proxmox VE 5.x from a grub boot with proxmox iso conf to have zfs setup partitions raid 1 and proxmox install (is it possible ? i don't know how)
- install proxmox on a raid-1 like i did and add one or two block storage that i will format in ZFS
- install a debian unformatted and make a zfs part scheme exactly like proxmox install and setup proxmox install with the how to (but zfsonlinux on github need a cd if i want to start the same scheme, i'm a noob on that)

What is the best solution ?

i would be glad if you can help me in the right direction

Arno

Reactions: stappers
I don't know if original poster has seen https..//git.proxmox.com/?p=pve-installer.git;a=summary

That git repository comes with proxinstall as programm. Inside are traces / signes of ZFS.
I don't know how it fits the need of O.P.

Thing that triggered me to respond in this thread is the install without CD