Proxmox to replace TrueNAS box

mjl4878

May 26, 2024
So I'm relatively new to homelab and below is my current setup.
Box 1 - TrueNAS, 4790k, 16gb, 256gb SSD, 4x2tb 5400 drvies (ZFS Pool), 3x12TB (ZFS Pool)
Box 2 - Proxmox, Intel N100, 16gb, 256gb ssd, 512 nvme

So I started with box 1 and it's currently running mostly media applications, plex, sab etc along with my SMB shares. Primarly use the larger pool and haven't done anything yet with the smaller one. I have since picked up box 2 and been running Proxmox on it with some lighter apps, PiHole and some dashboards and organization stuff.

I'm realizing that I greatly prefer using Proxmox over TrueNAS mostly for the way that it handles the app installs, but my drives are stuck in box 1.

Thinking of swapping box 1 over to Proxmox as well, but worried the overall experience with the nas side of things being less optimal, but also want all the apps that it currently runs to be done on the same system.

Seems like running TrueNAS inside of Proxmox as a vm/container does not make sense to fully utilize the drives. Should I just setup everything on Proxmox and run Samba through a container?

Also suggestions on what to do with the smaller pool?

That's not super clear what you're meaning?

Hmmm, you can pass through the entire drives to a VM, so TrueNAS in the VM would still be managing them directly.
Mostly just letting TrueNAS manage the ZFS pool, and if it isn't is there a good reason to run that?

If you like the TrueNAS web interface for managing your shares then that's what it's for. :)

You can pass the whole (raw) disk devices through to TrueNAS, so it is the one managing those specific disks (rather than Proxmox) and therefore its own ZFS pool.

Hi! I am also having relevant questions, but I am just starting out with self-hosting.
You can pass the whole (raw) disk devices through to TrueNAS, so it is the one managing those specific disks (rather than Proxmox) and therefore its own ZFS pool.