Proxmox Networking 5 IPV4

i9host

Jan 22, 2020
Hello friends,

I'm new to the world of Proxmox.

I set up a server that has 2 physical network cards (enp5s0f0 and enp5s0f1) with 5 valid IPV4.

I created 2 virtual machines (1 Windows and 1 Linux).

I would like to create 4 virtual network cards, 2 for Windows and 2 for Linux, and configure 2 IP's for each. But I'm lost with this configuration.

1 IP - Promox - x. x. x. 162
1 IP - Windows - x. x. x. 163
1 IP - Windows - x. x. x. 164
1 IP - Linux - x. x. x. 165
1 IP - Linux - x. x. x. 166

Could anyone help me?

*Proxmox v7

Hi,

It is a bad ideea to create on any system (virtual or not) many interfaces with the same netmask. Why do you need this?

Also is bad to have Proxmox IP/management in the same IP space as VMs.

Strict to your question, your desired IP must be configured inside pe VM(depending of your OS).

Good luck / Bafta !

Last edited:
The simplest way and what I would do is install a 5th VM with pfSense or OpnSense router/firewall installed. You then put all your public IP's on pfSense with NAT rules that divert the public IP (e.g 11.22.33.163) to the desired VM (e.g 192.168.6.2) - see below

This also gives you the possibility of filtering undesirable incoming traffic, running intrusion protection etc.

pfsense_prox.png

Hi,

It is a bad ideea to create on any system (virtual or not) many interfaces with the same netmask. Why do you need this?

Also is bad to have Proxmox IP/management in the same IP space as VMs.

Strict to your question, your desired IP must be configured inside pe VM(depending of your OS).

Good luck / Bafta !
Hi @guletz ,

thanks for answering.

The data center that made the IP's available and I believe I can't ask them to change this topology.

I thank