Proxmox & isp modem without a router

Gavcol

Feb 12, 2022
Hi all,

The plan was to replace my consumer router with a pfsense box which went well until I made a change and broke the internet, unrecoverable (for me).
Lucky I still had the old router lying around to plug and play and happy kids/wife/life... for now ;)

Then came the suggestions for a pfsense vm on proxmox, so with some early playing around with proxmox and I really really like it.

I had pfsense on a mini pc (i7 6port Protectli/Qotom like box). It's so overkill for pfsense on its own that it's perfect for a hypervisor running pfsense in a vm.
I'm a complete newb to proxmox (though I played around with virtualbox a few yrs ago), I'm having trouble trying to get proxmox configured for pfsense when using only the isp modem (remember I want to replace my Asus merlin router and just have pfsense running the show.

I appreciate this is not a pfsense board ;) and I'm only asking for proxmox help with the network config to pass/bridge the WAN connection from the modem (while not being exposed to the internet itself) and pass the WAN through to pfsense. (From there I'll configure pfsense with firewall rules, VLANs etc.)

Then I'd like to connect the proxmox box to the pfsense vm for it's internet gateway (mostly for updates).
i.e. ISP modem -> proxmox box (6port mini pc server) -> pfsense vm (then provide internet back to proxmox) but I'm having trouble with the bridging etc in proxmox.
Is this even possible ?

I've trawled through a heap of blogs, forums, guides and videos but couldn't find anyone that's detailed how to do this or a proxmox config without another router between the modem and the proxmox box.

This is an idea of most of what I had with pfsense on its own but now I'm trying to put pfsense on a vm and I'm tearing my hair out with the bridging setup.
Any thoughts or advice are welcome and appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Gav
1645450044014.png