Proxmox hangs

SilverApe

Nov 2, 2020
Hi all,
I have not much knowledge of proxmox. I have followed an installation instruction from youtube so I could use Home Assistant. I installed it on a laptop. Installation went very well and it runs really smooth. Home Assistant is running without any problems. I really like the fact that I can create a backup of my VM before I update HA. So far I am happy.
There is only one problem. The whole proxmox hangs from time to time. I can restart the laptop and it runs smoothly again. This is the message that is on the screen when it hangs:

IMG_0191 (1).jpeg

Can anyone help me with this. Keep in mind that I am new to proxmox :p

Thanks

Hi Moayad,
Thanks for the help.
Do I go in the proxserver and then in the shell type this command? And what is the name of my device (where do I find this)?

Schermafbeelding 2020-11-02 om 13.38.18.png

I now get this when I execute the command: -bash: ethtool: command not found

Thanks

Do I go in the proxserver and then in the shell type this command?
yes, or if you have ssh into your node that easy to copy the output of pveversion -v

I now get this when I execute the command: -bash: ethtool: command not found
Try to install the tool with apt install ethtool

I used this: root@proxserver:~# ethtool -K proxserver gso off gro off tso off tx off rx off
I am getting this: Cannot get device feature names: No such device

sooo :oops::)

Bash:
ethtool -K <device name> gso off gro off tso off tx off rx off

<device name> means interface name of network, to find the name of interface do ip -c a commnad, probably it will be second one like 2: enp0XXXXX

Argh! I thought it worked. Until today it run perfectly without crashing. Today it crashed again with the same message. Is there something else I could do?

About

The Proxmox community has been around for many years and offers help and support for Proxmox VE, Proxmox Backup Server, and Proxmox Mail Gateway.