Proxmox Bridge

Ma907xb

Dec 26, 2018
USA
Hello,

Trying to get access to my VM through SSH from my local computer on the same network. My local computer can ping the VM but the VM cannot ping my local computer.

I'm very new to this, but have been trying to learn.

I see vmbr0 in the network GUI on my node.

should the correct configuration for /etc/network/interfaces/ be the following

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface ens18 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
address 192.168.1.129
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1
bridge_ports ens18
bridge_stp off
bridge_fd 0

Once i save this configuraiton I need to restart my host and then my VM should be able to connect to local area network?

Do i need to change any configuration on proxmox? Adding the vmbr0 through the GUI as a linux bridge is adequate?

I see my network device in the thumbnail is eno1 but for some reason the VM came default as ens18. I need to change my device name in linux or change the name of the network device on the GUI, correct?

Attachments

• gateway.JPG
    gateway.JPG
    18.5 KB · Views: 14
ens18 is the name of interface inside the vm. (because proxmox add the interface on pci slot 18).

but you don't need to add it in bridge vmbr0 in /etc/network/interfaces, proxmox is doing it for you when vm start. (without changing /etc/networking/interfaces).

in your /etc/network/interfaces, you only need to do the physical setup. (so vmbr0 with bridge-ports eno1)

ens18 is the name of interface inside the vm. (because proxmox add the interface on pci slot 18).

but you don't need to add it in bridge vmbr0 in /etc/network/interfaces, proxmox is doing it for you when vm start. (without changing /etc/networking/interfaces).

in your /etc/network/interfaces, you only need to do the physical setup. (so vmbr0 with bridge-ports eno1)