Proxmox and storage option for a HomeLab

l0rdraiden

Jan 23, 2018
Before posting this I have been reading a lot about proxmox and zfs, please keep in mind that I'm not an expert on linux, I'm an enthusiastic home user with IT knowledge.

I plan to setup a system based on an apollo lake board J5005, 8GB RAM, 1SSD (128GB) and probably 2 or 3 identical HDD of 4TB. It won't have HW RAID

The setup I have in mind is
VM1 PFsense or Sophos XG Firewall
VM2 NextCloud
VM3 OpenMediaVault (not sure since I have NextCloud), rtorrent and other small apps.

I'm not an expert so I don't want to over-complicate things

I plan to have VM images, log, ZFS cache (if I use it) on the SSD.
My idea is to use the HDD as a file storage an backup and consume it with Syncthing, NextCloud, Samba, Duplicati, etc. So redundancy is important but I could also copy everything again to a 6TB external drive (enough space for all my data), and purchase only 1 HDD of 4TB
¿So what is the best thing I can do with the 1, 2 or 3 HDD drives amusing I get similar drives?

It make sense to install OpenMediaVault in a VM to create and Manage ZFS storage? will the VM have access to the RAW disk or it will go trough the Promox layer impacting performance?
Should I create ZFS directly at promox level? RAIDZ1 or 2

How hard is to recover a ZFS if 1 HDD dies? I'm afraid about this in case is hard, since with HW Raid 1 is quite easy.

This thread is exposing basically a similar questions, I have read it but still I don't get all the answers.
https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/basic-setup-for-simple-home-server-where-to-store-the-data.31700/
He end up using the option of creating ZFS at proxmox level and then share it with VM using NFS but it looks like to me like and bad way to do it, why use a virtual network to share it? Proxmox can not expose directly the ZFS storage to the VM?

Last edited:
Hi,

Many questions, without a good structure...