1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Proxmox and SeaBIOS additional parameters

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE 1.x: Installation and configuration' started by zc1974, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. lsd25

    lsd25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    original:xxd -i source-bin-file.bin | grep -v len | sed 's/unsigned char.*/static char SLIC[] = {/' > src/acpi-slic.hex
    your:xxd -i source-bin-file.bin | grep -v len | sed 's/unsigned char.*/unsigned char SLIC[] = {/' > acpi-slic.hex
    find the difference ;)
     
    #21 lsd25, Mar 19, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2013
  2. James Coleman-Powell

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm still not able to get this working - SLIC Toolkit still shows 'DUMP ERROR (SLIC TABLE NOT FOUND)' - would the fact I'm running Proxmox 2.3 make a difference?

    Here's the whole process I've followed:

    1. Dump SLIC to bin using SLIC TOOLKIT
    2. Convert to Hex using xxd -i source-bin-file.bin | grep -v len | sed 's/unsigned char.*/static char SLIC[] = {/' > src/acpi-slic.hex
    3. Download Seabios 1.7.2 source and extract
    4. Copy acpi-slic.hex to seabios/src
    5. Copy acpi_slic.patch to seabios/src
    6. issue 'Make' command from seabios root folder
    7. Copy /out/bios.bin over /usr/share/kvm/bios.bin
    8. Restart Proxmox to be sure

    In SLIC Toolkit I can see what appears to be a windows XP CDKEY in 'Pkey', RSDT shows BOCHS BXPCRSDT but SLIC DUMP fails.

    Any ideas?
     
  3. kameleon

    kameleon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0

    I know it is a little late to reply to this but I just did this and found the problem. You were missing the patch command between #5 and #6. You should run this command:

    patch -p1 < src/acpi_slic.patch

    then continue on with #6.
     
  4. lsd25

    lsd25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, sorry, it's my mistake. I forgot this step in the description of the patch process.
     
  5. James Coleman-Powell

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the update - works like a charm. I can see the relevant fields in SLIC Toolkit now.

    It didn't have the desired effect however as I was trying to install OEM Windows XP on my promox host which is a Dell machine that has an XP Pro COA. I believe it's because these patches are for SLIC V2 which is not something windows XP uses to check whether an OEM edition can activate? Has anyone had any success with OEM Windows XP?
     
  6. kameleon

    kameleon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is all good. Thank you for documenting it to that point. I just like to make sure the complete solution is out there for others that are facing the same problem. Now I have successfully moved my windows desktop from a physical machine to a virtual. Could not have done it without your directions. Thanks again!
     
  7. lsd25

    lsd25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. cyberpear

    cyberpear New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks! I've been trying to get this to work for quite a while! :D
     
  9. caustic

    caustic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anybody out there who was able to slic a 256k seabiosfile?
    How do I force the latest Proxmox 3.2-30 to use old 128k bios.bin?
    Thanks in advance.
     

Share This Page