Proxmox 6 - low speed on upload

Oct 14, 2017
Hello,

I am new in proxmox, don't have to much experience. I have set up on a Microserver Gen8 on an SSD, proxmox 6.
When I was running speedtest-cli from the host I have very low speed on upload.

Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Testing from RCS & RDS (79.113.215.181)...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Selecting best server based on ping...
Hosted by RCS & RDS (Timisoara) [47.58 km]: 9.967 ms
Testing download speed................................................................................
Download: 659.36 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed......................................................................................................
Upload: 4.01 Mbit/s

In the past I was using the installation on an SD Card and I heaved also more Download, around 800-900. Related to download could it be because I am using not on SSD and not anymore on SD Card?

What I am doing wrong because of the very very slow Upload?

UPDATE: When running speedtest-cli from a KVM I have different result.
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Testing from RCS & RDS (79.113.215.181)...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Selecting best server based on ping...
Hosted by RCS & RDS (Timisoara) [47.58 km]: 12.356 ms
Testing download speed................................................................................
Download: 643.65 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed....................................................................................................
Upload: 118.13 Mbit/s
So just the host was issue with upload.

Last edited:
  • Do you have more information with what of kind of connection you are testing this?
  • Have you done more tests at different times?
  • Do you have another computer in the same network?
    • How are they connected? (Ethernet cables or wifi)
    • What speeds do you get between them?

• Do you have more information with what of kind of connection you are testing this?