Proxmox 4.4 and DRBD which Version is recommended?

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by hape, Apr 5, 2017.

  1. hape

    hape Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    we use a two-node cluster and want to setup DRBD to mirror the image of the VMs to both nodes. I'm a little bit confused on which version (8 or 9) should i use, and how can i install it?

    Does anybody have any experience on setup, and can make a recommendation?

    Regards

    Hans-Peter
     
  2. Mitch Maris

    Mitch Maris New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    306
    Hi,

    on PVE 4 you can only use DRBD9 or you have to compile your own kernel.

    PVE will come with DRBD8 modules so you can choose what you will do.

    The most user in this forum report that DRBD 8 better for 2 nodes setup.

    But keep in mind that there is no HA with 2 nodes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Mitch Maris

    Mitch Maris New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Morgan @wolfgang

    I believe the OP has some confusion about which is the best to use currently.

    On the enterprise repo, we still have access to DRBD files.

    Code:
    root@pve1:~# apt search drbd
    Sorting... Done
    Full Text Search... Done
    drbd-doc/stable 8.4~20140825-1 all
      RAID 1 over TCP/IP for Linux (user documentation)
    
    drbd-utils/stable 8.9.8-1 amd64
      RAID 1 over TCP/IP for Linux (user utilities)
    
    drbd-utils-dbg/stable 8.9.2~rc1-2+deb8u1 amd64
      RAID 1 over TCP/IP for Linux (user utilities' debug symbols)
    
    drbd8-utils/stable 2:8.9.8-1 amd64
      transitional dummy package
    
    drbdlinks/stable 1.22-1 all
      Manages symlinks into a shared DRBD partition
    
    drbdmanage/stable 0.97.3-1 amd64
      Distributed configuration management for DRBD
    
    nagios-plugins-contrib/stable 14.20141104 amd64
      Plugins for nagios compatible monitoring systems
    


    If we want to make a 2 node cluster (with third witness proxmox server) using DRBD as the storage, should we use the packages in the enterprise (or free, would need to check) or stick to the linbit repo?

    Thanks

    Mitch
     
  5. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    306
    This are old packages and we do not delete old packages.

    On PVE 4.4 you have to use the linbit repos if you like to use DRBD.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Mitch Maris

    Mitch Maris New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    think that makes it crystal clear, thanks @wolfgang
     
  7. hape

    hape Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    i'm continuing confused about the possible setup.

    Isn't it possible to make a 2 nodes setup with really only 2 members?

    I only want a filesystem mirroring such as raid-1 (on 2 nodes), and a ha-cluster setup with only one failover-host as backup.
     
  8. Mitch Maris

    Mitch Maris New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    @hape Proxmox 4 uses corosync for cluster management (HA) which requires 3 nodes to make quorum. Proxmox 3 you could make a 2 node cluster. Proxmox 5 you'll again have the ability to make 2 node (with a third whitness device maybe a raspberry pi) cluster again but it's still in development and specifics are not yet documented on the wiki

    DRDB 8 could have a 2 node cluster, I am unsure about v9 as my attempts to set it up in a virtual cluster was unsuccessful and time has not allowed further investigation/completion.
     
  9. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    306
    For HA you need always min 3 participants.
    Some use tiebreaker like switches,etc.

    Two node can never now the true state and will produce splitbrain in time.
    Consider the following network is lost witch of the 2 nodes are down?
    Both node don't see the other node. Conclusion the other node is down I take the job. Result splitbrain.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice