Proper Network Setup for HA Clustering??

modem

May 15, 2023
Good afternoon all!

I've been toying with Proxmox for about two years on and off in a sandbox environment in my home lab. I had just never pulled the trigger to moving all of my stable Hyper-V VM's over to it but now I really feel comfortable to do so.

Currently I have 5 servers (several HPE DL380p's, PE 540's & 630's). While I have got clustering down pretty well, I would like to move to High Availability networking on these. I do NOT have a drive shelf, all storage is on the various servers. Each server will have anywhere from 10-20TB of capacity and 192GB or more of RAM.

I would like to get a 10GB switch (SFP+ preferably) and have multi-mode fiber setup between each of the servers for their redundancy / HA capacity while the VM's would continue to have their own dedicated NIC's on a 1GB switch for serving the various needs (Plex, AD, DHCP, etc etc).

Here's my main question. I read about setting up a separate LAN (or vlan which I'll do) for the HA communications/migrations. What is the best method for this? Good reliable articles/videos for this? I've read in places that XX amount of RAM needs to be available for HA cluster networking?

I just need more details as I find this very similar to VMWare we use for my day job, but want to broaden my horizon's even more.

Thanks!

I can't help you with all questions, but I might be able to give a few pointers at least:

First of all, try to dedicate 1 port (doesn't need to be SFP/10GB, a 1 GB line works fine) for JUST Corosync if you're using HA, so no user-traffic and especially no storage/replication traffic (preferably even no proxmox-management traffic).