Problem getting crontab to work

losarbitan

Nov 23, 2023
Hello all,

I am very new to proxmox, but have a couple years experience admining my homelab linux server.
I added a cronjob to crontab with crontab -e.
I want to send Analogj/Scrutiny metrics to another server every minute. This is my crontab:
Code:
@reboot (sleep 60 && echo "powersave" | tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor)

# Run scrutiny metrics collector and export to Sapphire
# Every minute
* * * * * /opt/scrutiny/bin/scrutiny-collector-metrics-linux-amd64 run --config /opt/scrutiny/bin/collector.yaml

Usually the crontab contains some commented out stuff with information about how to use it, I did not see it in there. Not sure if that's normal.
When I run the command /opt/scrutiny/bin/scrutiny-collector-metrics-linux-amd64 run --config /opt/scrutiny/bin/collector.yaml normally in the shell it works fine and the metrics are sent to my other server.

/opt/scrutiny/bin/scrutiny-collector-metrics-linux-amd64 is the location of the bin for the scrutiny data collector.

Any idea what I am doing wrong or why it is not working?

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: extra information

Hello,

every minute would be */1 * * * * .
Give it a try.

Kind regards,

--
Guillaume Delanoy
Thanks for the reply.
AFAIK * * * * * is the same thing as */1 * * * *.

When I run systemctl status cron I can see that the command runs every minute, but nothing seems to happen. This is the output of systemctl status cron:
Code:
● cron.service - Regular background program processing daemon
     Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/cron.service; enabled; preset: enabled)
     Active: active (running) since Thu 2023-11-23 21:27:11 CET; 12h ago
       Docs: man:cron(8)
   Main PID: 26349 (cron)
      Tasks: 1 (limit: 38148)
     Memory: 564.0K
        CPU: 14.696s
     CGroup: /system.slice/cron.service
             └─26349 /usr/sbin/cron -f