Problem adding an extra local storage in VE 5.2

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by lucentsound, Sep 25, 2018.

  1. lucentsound

    lucentsound New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi All,
    i’m a newbie about Proxmox and i ask you for an help about the starting configuration.

    I installed VE 5.2 on one HDD of a Server so SDA is the drive where Proxmox installation is running.

    Then i add a second HDD locally on the same Server for storage purposes, SDB, and followed these commands i found on a blog:

    fdisk –l (to see the name of new drive)

    cfdisk /dev/sdb

    and create new, primary, partition.

    Then

    pvcreate /dev/sdb1

    Created a volume group for example "Data-Storage"

    vgcreate Data-Storage /dev/sdb1


    Then Added the storage in ProxMox webinterface



    - clicked on tab Storage.

    - clicked Add – LVM Group

    - typed an ID Name Data-Storage

    - Base Storage: Existing Volume Groups

    - Volume Group: Data-Storage



    - Enabled: Checked

    Now the problem is that under menu : pve – Data Storage (pve) – Content i can’t upload any image cause the button is gray.

    I added some screenshoot.

    I know the question is stupid but please help me to under stand the mistake.

    Thanks to all in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. symmcom

    symmcom Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    16
    Are you trying to upload ISO images? LVM is a block level storage. I dont believe you can store any ISO or LXC templates on block storage. You should mount the drive in a directory and add it to Pmx as Local storage instead of LVM. You can still have LVM on the actual drive, just need to mount it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lucentsound

    lucentsound New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes Ahmed, i would like to use this second disk to upload ISO and also to contain virtual machine. Can you indicate me the steps i should make to reconfigure the disk? Thank you
     
  4. symmcom

    symmcom Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    16
    The process is very simple. You do not need to reconfigure the drive itself.

    This needs to be done from Command line:
    1. Create an empty directory with any name. For example,
    # mkdir /mnt/lvmdata

    2. Run the command lvdisplay to get the exact name of the LVM you created. It should be in the following format:
    /dev/volume_group_name/logical_volume_name

    3. Add the following line into /etc/fstab so the node mounts the directory automatically after a reboot. I am assuming you used ext4 as to create filesystem.
    /dev/mapper/logival_volume_name /mnt/lvmdata ext4 defaults 0 0

    This needs to be done from GUI:
    4. Goto Datacenter > Storage > Add > Directory

    5. In the directory box type in: /mnt/lvmdata and click Add

    Now you can select any Content type.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. lucentsound

    lucentsound New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thank you very much for your precious support.
    As you suggested me i investigated first the LVM i created and there is something i don't understand.
    If i run the command pvscan i get:

    root@pve:/# pvscan
    PV /dev/sdb1 VG Data-Storage lvm2 [278.87 GiB / 278.87 GiB free]
    PV /dev/sda3 VG pve lvm2 [135.87 GiB / 16.00 GiB free]
    Total: 2 [414.74 GiB] / in use: 2 [414.74 GiB] / in no VG: 0 [0 ]
    root@pve:/#

    So it seams to me i created a volume group named "Data-Storage" on a physical volume /dev/sdb1 of 278.87 GiB free ( the new disk i added is a 300 Gib)

    But if i run the command lvdisplay i get:

    root@pve:/# lvdisplay
    --- Logical volume ---
    LV Path /dev/pve/swap
    LV Name swap
    VG Name pve
    LV UUID PUaRIy-oSc5-iKZl-VprO-RM8r-eQWp-yRnFbu
    LV Write Access read/write
    LV Creation host, time proxmox, 2018-09-18 18:52:46 +0200
    LV Status available
    # open 2
    LV Size 8.00 GiB
    Current LE 2048
    Segments 1
    Allocation inherit
    Read ahead sectors auto
    - currently set to 256
    Block device 253:0

    --- Logical volume ---
    LV Path /dev/pve/root
    LV Name root
    VG Name pve
    LV UUID AuW3xq-7Ori-aWIo-3BES-DO3d-igtW-C9MzmA
    LV Write Access read/write
    LV Creation host, time proxmox, 2018-09-18 18:52:46 +0200
    LV Status available
    # open 1
    LV Size 33.75 GiB
    Current LE 8640
    Segments 1
    Allocation inherit
    Read ahead sectors auto
    - currently set to 256
    Block device 253:1

    --- Logical volume ---
    LV Name data
    VG Name pve
    LV UUID dofs9N-QP3C-RmoJ-zQzI-FtEs-jYzv-q7T1hd
    LV Write Access read/write
    LV Creation host, time proxmox, 2018-09-18 18:52:47 +0200
    LV Pool metadata data_tmeta
    LV Pool data data_tdata
    LV Status available
    # open 0
    LV Size 76.12 GiB
    Allocated pool data 0.00%
    Allocated metadata 0.04%
    Current LE 19487
    Segments 1
    Allocation inherit
    Read ahead sectors auto
    - currently set to 256
    Block device 253:4

    So, it seams i can't see the 278.87 GiB free that hoped to create. Where am i wrong?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice