Private server cluster configuration suggestion to use with Proxmox VE with SDS and NAS

electrolibrium

Mar 2, 2021
Hello, I'd like to ask for your suggestions on how to configure a new private server cluster for a start-up. I'm comfortable doing things in the cloud, but everything has to be private and self-hosted including code repositories, wiki, CI & CD pipeline, chat, and collaboration tools. So I'm really a noob when it comes to bare metal servers and I hope you'd help me find the right answers.

3 identical servers with this configuration: 2 x Intel Xeon Silver 4210 CPU (10 Core, 20 Thread, 2.20 GHz Base, 3.20 GHz Turbo ), 64 GB DDR4 ECC RAM, 2 x600 GB SAS 15K RPM HD.

We plan to form a cluster using these 3 servers with Proxmox VE and here is the list of items we'd like to run on using vms:
  • Kubernetes cluster for running applications in multiple environments (dev, test, prod) via K8s namespaces.
  • MongoDB database instances in multiple environments
  • Gitlab for Git repository, wiki, issue tracking, and continuous integration and deployment pipeline
  • Element from element.io for conversations like Slack or MS Teams
  • Seafile for on-premises fileSharing like Google drive
  1. Would we face any problems configuring K8s on top of the vms? Losing some performance is not a concern here, but we're more concerned about K8s not running reliably.