pfsense firewall

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Networking and Firewall' started by Keith Miller, Dec 31, 2018.

  1. Keith Miller

    Keith Miller New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can the pfsince firewall be installed as a VM and used to protect whole network

    Keith
     
  2. sb-jw

    sb-jw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    23
  3. Keith Miller

    Keith Miller New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    are there any instructions on doing do
     
  4. sb-jw

    sb-jw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    23
    Normally there is nothing big on PVE Side to do. You have to check the PfSense Documentation: https://www.netgate.com/docs/pfsense/

    Just install it, configure it for you needs and change the Gateway from your Nodes / VMs so that the Traffic will pass the PfSense.
     
  5. werter

    werter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
  6. tl5k5

    tl5k5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just dropped in an OPNsense VM on PVE to replace an EOL WatchGuard appliance at my small office. It works great! I found no docs on how to do this, I just pieced it together from several sources as I had need. I still have some loose ends to tidy up, but so far I'm very happy with it.
    Good luck!
     
  7. Norrodar

    Norrodar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you use pfSense as VM with only one physical network interface?
    I'm also looking for a solution for my server with only one network interface and one public ip.
    Is it possible to show us your /etc/network/interfaces config and tell us which interface do you use in your pfSense?

    I already tried it with vmbr0 and with the physical one (ens3), also created a vmbr1 for the "LAN-Interface" in pfSense... however, never worked for me.
     
  8. werter

    werter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi.
    taste-of-it.de/hetzner-installation-von-proxmox-ve-4-2-auf-debian/
    or
    google it like pfsense proxmox single network hetzner :
    https://github.com/pekare/hetzner-proxmox-pfsense
    https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/pfsense-proxmox-5-one-nic.41512/

    P.s. Don't forget
    https://www.netgate.com/docs/pfsense/
    https://www.netgate.com/docs/pfsens...ort.html#Disable_Hardware_Checksum_Offloading
     
    #8 werter, Jan 7, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2019
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice