PCIe Passthrough for HBA - blacklist driver question

odonnell

Mar 6, 2021
Hello, new member here, I finally made an account. I am also relatively new to Proxmox and still cutting my teeth; I have it running on a Dell R620 in a homelab environment. This has 8 local drive bays, through a H710 PERC card flashed with IT mode firmware. Works great, these drives comprise a pool I use for the VMs.

For my NAS, I have decided to go with TrueNAS in a virtual environment. I am setting up a Dell SC200 JBOD, and installed a LSI 9207-8e HBA card to interface with it. My plan is to pass through this entire card to the TrueNAS VM for simplicity.

Here is my concern: running lspci -v shows me that the mpt3sas module is being loaded for the H710 "HBA" and the 9207-8e card that I wish to pass through. Blacklisting the mpt3sas driver in a simple manner seems like it would also affect the H710, which I still need as mentioned earlier.

What is the best approach to blacklist mpt3sas, but only for this one PCIe device? I tried searching already but maybe I am not using the right terms, all of the solutions I am finding seem to be relatively complex, such as this one. Is there a simple option, possibly one where the module doesn't need to be blacklisted in the first place, or doesn't require quite so many changes to be made all over the place?

TIA!

Last edited:
Instead of blacklisting, you can also bind the vfio-pci driver to the device instead of the actual driver. Just make sure to do it early in the boot process.
One way is to add vfio-pci.ids=xxxx:yyyy to the kernel command line. Another way is to add a file (named vfio.conf for example) to the /etc/modprobe.d/ directory that contains lines like:
options vfio-pci ids=xxxx:yyyy softdep mpt3sas pre: vfio-pci
Replace xxxx:yyyy with the two four-digit numbers you get for the device when using lspci -n.

Last edited:
Thanks! I went with the option to add those 2 lines to vfio.conf, which I already made for my GPU passthrough.