PCI Passthrough NVME

vmjunki

Jul 26, 2023
Hi, I'm new to proxmox and really need to install an eve-ng vm on my ssd with Nested virtualisation enabled. Most of the tutorials that I have searched so far explains spesific to graphic cards, which is not for my application at the moment.

I have a Dell R830 and a PCIe addon card with a Kingstom 512GB NVME that I want to dedicate to the eve-ng vm, can someone please point me in the right direction?

1690399769764.png

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
Follow the steps in the PCI(e) passthrough section of the manual. Hardly anything is GPU specific and NVMe is also just a PCIe device on the host. Your NVMe device may or may not properly reset and it may or may not work with passthrough. There are no guarantees and as usual it's trial and error. You could also consider doing disk passthrough instead.

EDIT: Do you need someone else to tell you whether it is a good idea to make your NVMe device the Primary GPU of the VM? Please read a little, search a little, learn a little. Maybe some other volunteer here will take the time to write a step by step guide for your specific situation especially for you.

Last edited:
Follow the steps in the PCI(e) passthrough section of the manual. Hardly anything is GPU specific and NVMe is also just a PCIe device on the host. Your NVMe device may or may not properly reset and it may or may not work with passthrough. There are no guarantees and as usual it's trial and error. You could also consider doing disk passthrough instead.
1.Where do I get the driver name? do I omit the blacklist drivers section?
1690400365898.png
2.Do I omit "x-vga=on"
1690400562419.png
3. Proxmox do detect the drive
1690400750439.png

1.Where do I get the driver name? do I omit the blacklist drivers section?
View attachment 53529
2.Do I omit "x-vga=on"
View attachment 53530
3. Proxmox do detect the drive
View attachment 53531