Password issue (system issue with password recognition)

nyquist

Aug 7, 2013
Hi there,

I'm pretty new with Proxmox. I installed my system following this guide.

A couple of weeks ago, I got unable to login as root on my system. I did not change the root password at all.. but I thought there was a possibility that it got locked (weird to get root account locked... but.. who knows). Following this other guide, I changed the root password and after a reboot I was able to login as root again (by ssh and web console too).

Today, I decided to make some changes in the system configuration and I found I'm not being able to connect the host by SSH, again.

I'm now really sure I'm not making a mistake by typing wrong passwords.
I was able to connect to the server with root account a couple of days ago.

Fortunately, last time I reset root's password by booting to a sh, then I created a privileged account (Administrator Role) within Proxmox in order to avoid those annoying situations again. I also noticed that by accessing Proxmox with the administrator account (VE authenticated), I got a "change password" button enabled when clicking the root account under the Users tab. The problem is that I get "Permission check failed (403)" error when trying to reset root's password through the web console with my admin user.

I can't reboot my host right now, so I did not have a chance to take a look at the logs yet.

Some system information:
Intel Server Board S5520HC
2 x Intel Xeon E5540
DDR3 1333 RAM
Running Debian 7.1.0 Wheezy 64bit (net/minimal install, up to date).
Proxmox Virtual Environment Version: 3.0-23/957f0862 (with the latest kernel update available by apt-get from this repository "deb http://download.proxmox.com/debian wheezy pve").

In the meantime, is there a known issue which could be causing this? Any ideas?

Regards,
Nyquist

Last edited:

About