Passthrough of HBA330 on a Dell T630 server

mcfly9

May 11, 2022
Hi,

I am trying to passthrough a Dell H330 card in my Dell T630 server to my TrueNas Scale VM, but cannot get it working. I got this far:

Oct 13 22:39:18 proxmox kernel: [ 269.679300] vfio-pci 0000:03:00.0: DMAR: Device is ineligible for IOMMU domain attach due to platform RMRR requirement. Contact your platform vendor.

IOMMU enabled, driver is blacklisted, but no luck, looks like my BIOS won't allow this. Anyone managed to get this working on a 13th gen Dell server? What is the state of the art solution for this? Kernel patch?
Would it help if I replaced the HBA to a H730p?

Last edited:
Maybe you can update the BIOS or find a work-around in the other RMRR topics here? Sorry, I have no experience with this but it appears to be a not uncommon issue. Maybe contact Dell (or search their forum/documentation/website) as the message suggests?

Reactions: mcfly9
Upon reading some more about this, found a Dell forum post that H330 doesn't support IOMMU, but would need an H730. Contradicting to this, I have found some forum posts where people were able to passthrough the H330 too. Bit confused here.
Some thread also gave me an idea to flash the card to an IT firmware, maybe that will help.
If that fails, will try the kernel patch route...

Reactions: leesteken
Oh yes, and have been using this card with ZFS on proxmox, but want to move the drives onto a truenas vm.
When saying moving to a H730, I meant continuing to use HBA mode on the RAID card...

Reporting back. Downgraded the kernel to 5.15.39-3, used the kernel patch of Aterfax, and was able to passthrough the H330 controller in HBA mode. TrueNas Scale working great so far! :)

Am still curious to understand whether cross-flashing from H330 (in IT mode) to HBA330 would eliminate the need for the kernel patch... my current understanding is that it won't, and would still need the patch. Anyone able to confirm that?