pam_nologin not allowing root login, and i need access to local files

bill209

May 11, 2019
VM OS: debian xcfe

have been running this VM successfully for several months; all of a sudden, when tryinng to login with ROOT, i get the message: "System is booting up. See pam_nologin(8)"

i've looked through the error logs but could not find anything to point me in the right direction - though i am a linux noob and may have missed the pertinent logfile.
i have tried disabling pam_nologin by moving the /run/login file (it keeps popping back) and then by directly modifying the /etc/pam.d/login file. no luck.

i assume the pam_nologin is a symptom and not the problem; solving the issue would be optimal, but a work around to pam_login would allow me to extract work files and then i can can rebuild a new VM.

fyi, i CAN login via the GRUB reccovery mode option using ROOT, and CAN see the files i need. however, i do not know how to copy them off the local drive as the network is not connected. (ie MOUNT fails with "mount nfs: network is unreachable"

note: curious, could this be related to me accidentally doing a 'shutdown -k' at some point. not sure i ever did that but i know it disables logins.
note: i am forced to do a 'stop' on the VM as 'shutdowns' do not work. also, doing a 'halt' from within the command line also seems to hang.

i really appreciate any help,
bill

hi,

i don't know the solution to the login problem off the top of my head, but the easiest way of extracting the files from the VM would be mounting the virtual disk on your PVE host and copy the files to the PVE.

@oguz , that sounds like a great solution. i did not realize that i could mount a VM's virtual disk on the host. when i look at the hardware section of the VM, hard disk (virtio0) is listed as:

local-lvm:vm-101-disk-0:size=128G

the documents are stored in /Documents.