overfilled disk in lvm

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by crackers8199, Aug 10, 2019.

  1. crackers8199

    crackers8199 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have 3x 10tb disks in my server, and one of the three was dedicated solely to my plex media (for now). i had a lvm thinpool and stupidly created a drive in the thinpool for 10tb (which was too big, obviously). now i've filled the drive and am getting io errors, and can't reactivate it. i also can't repair it because there's no space left on the disk.

    how can i fix this and get the data off the disk if i need to format and start over? i have enough room elsewhere to copy files to if i can get them mounted, but i've had no luck figuring out how to get the drive activated and mounted to get the data off of it and move it elsewhere...
     
  2. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,937
    Likes Received:
    365
  3. crackers8199

    crackers8199 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was able to extend to a usb stick, but i can't get the lvms to activate...

     
  4. crackers8199

    crackers8199 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    can anyone assist me in getting these activated so i can get data off them and fix everything?

    i tried the solution from here:
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/lvm2/+bug/1625201

    Code:
    thin_dump /dev/mapper/vg02-pool0_tmeta > lvm_meta_dum
    lvcreate -n pool0meta2 -L 12G vg02
    thin_restore -i lvm_meta_dump -o /dev/mapper/vg02-pool0meta2
    lvconvert --thinpool vg02/pool0 --poolmetadata vg02/pool0meta2
    as my meta was initially 16gb and i've been seeing the same errors in dmesg...but that didn't work either. i still get the error above (invalid argument) if i try to activate the vg...

    if i try to activate the lv, i get this (after trying the manual meta recreation from the link above)...

    Code:
    lvchange -ay pve2/data2
      device-mapper: create ioctl on pve2-data2_tmetaLVM-Zg3oPyGdhFhGZJ7ixqUTMLj61ITjaVbGPVQK6r202WVHBIH12Ds2RjEKeVYWIB98-tmeta failed: Device or resource busy
     
    #4 crackers8199, Aug 13, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2019
  5. crackers8199

    crackers8199 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    can anyone assist? i'd really like to get this squared away so i can fix the problem and get my server back up and running...
     
  6. crackers8199

    crackers8199 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump...help! anyone?
     
  7. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,937
    Likes Received:
    365
    I cannot give any more advice. In case of a restore it may be recoverable or it may not.

    Have you considered to buy a subscription and get help from the Proxmox staff?
     
  8. crackers8199

    crackers8199 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i hadn't, but that's a good point. maybe i'll try that and see if anyone can assist.

    edit: actually, nevermind. i didn't realize i needed to get the second level subscription to get support from the staff...$300 isn't something i can afford right now.
     
  9. crackers8199

    crackers8199 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there anyone else out there that can help me get this data back, or am i screwed and just need to start over? i'm getting incredibly frustrated, nothing i have tried works and nobody online seems to be able to help with any of this...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice