Out of memory

Matteo Calorio

Jun 30, 2017
Hi,

we experience problems about RAM, expecially on a node that appears to not have very high usage:

1675693264157.png

Despite this we note that some machines go "out of memory":

1675693106926.png

Any ideas?

Regards,
Matteo

Attachments

• 1675692833251.png
    1675692833251.png
    25 KB · Views: 12
Thanks, I'm not a ZFS expert, but as far as I can see ARC usage is low:

Code:
# arc_summary -g

ARC: 4.3 GiB (0.9 %)  MFU: 3.9 GiB  MRU: 196.7 MiB  META: 440.8 MiB (377.9 GiB) DNODE 107.5 MiB (37.8 GiB)
+----------------------------------------------------------+
|                                                          |
+----------------------------------------------------------+

Also "smem" tells we have a lot of free memory:

Code:
# smem -tw
Area                           Used      Cache   Noncache
firmware/hardware                 0          0          0
kernel image                      0          0          0
kernel dynamic memory     207801072  195526700   12274372
userspace memory          576656820     183780  576473040
free memory               272279204  272279204          0
----------------------------------------------------------
                         1056737096  467989684  588747412

Did I miss something?

Matteo

Ballooning starts at 80% RAM usage of the host and will only stop after hosts RAM drops below 80% again or all guests reached their minimum RAM limit.

Last edited:
Ballooning starts at 80% RAM usage of the hostz and will only stop after hosts RAM drops below 80% again or all guests reached their minimum RAM limit.

In fact, we opened the ticket because it seems to us that it already occurs at 50% use and not at 80%.

Despite this we note that some machines go "out of memory":
do you mean this is inside the vm (at least it looks like it, since those processes don't exist on a vanilla proxmox installation)?

can you post the config /summary from such a vm