Mar 15, 2019
Hello Community,

I've the following Ceph question about PG's and OSD capacity:

1635500155378.png
1635500179879.png
1635500293327.png
1635500738368.png
1635500203209.png

As you can see. The Optimal number of PG's for my main Pool (Ceph-SSD-Pool-0) is higher than the actual PG count of 193. Autoscale is not working as far as I can see then. There are no Target settings set yet. I'm new to Ceph and would like some of your opinion on if this is expected behavior or I should set something with Target ratio.

I'm asking this because the space left before adding the latest OSD was around 650GB. Now it's only 870GB. I added 1TB, I expected over 1 TB of free space after it.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Hi,
what Proxmox-CEPH does on its own is in most cases a very good default. Only if you have more specific requirements or performance-issues I would change settings. Consider setting Ceph-Pool size to at least 3 with 2 min size. Else the moment if one replica goes down, your pool will be readonly for some time. Also I would recommend to have at least 2 OSDs/Disks in every node. You can force a rebalance from command line in Ceph if you want it to be a bit more even. https://docs.ceph.com/en/latest/rados/operations/balancer/
But with uneven OSDs in your hosts, it might simply the fact that the nodes with only one OSD simply get more data cause CEPH uses 25% of each nodes capacity which leads to this behavior....

Hello itNGO,

I was expecting that. 1 host still has 1 big VM on it that needs to be migrated either to Ceph or another storage, but I wanted +1TB for it to not come into trouble adding the last OSD. I think it will exceed the 85% mark on the near full warning message.

1 host will be fitted with 2 OSD's, and 1 host doesn't have an extra SSD in it, so I have to buy another one. Maybe it helps indeed.

Hello itNGO,