[SOLVED] NPIV (vHBA) on proxmox

alj

Oct 9, 2018
Hello All,

Before buying hardware and support for proxmox I am testing proxmox with a 3-node HA cluster using Ceph. Using hand me down hardware, this is working VERY nicely. I look forward to working with it on better hardware.

I now have a vm that will be running an application (Hitachi CCI) that needs access to a command device (LUN) presented from the Hitachi storage controller on our SAN to the vm.

My preference is to use NPIV as my background is AIX on Power and NPIV works flawlessly in that environment. Unfortunately from what I read on Proxmox and Qemu, NPIV does not work. I've seen a few forum posts asking about it, and links in those posts that reference other sites with documentation that refers to virsh commands. This does not exist on proxmox and from another dev post in the forum I see libvirt is not used with proxmox. I thought I saw one that said it's incompatible but I can't find it now.

I was able to present the command device to the 3 nodes and using block passthrough presented the command device to the guest. This works but unfortunately guest migration does not work with the local devices mapped.

This is a show stopper for deploying proxmox in my environment. Which would be a shame because for things that don't need something special like Brocade Network Advisor, running on proxmox is working beautifully!

Is there another way to allow a vm raw device access to either lun or block and allow vm migration between hosts that I am missing?

Is NPIV/vHBA anywhere on the roadmap for proxmox?

Thanks in advance,

Al

Hi,
Is NPIV/vHBA anywhere on the roadmap for proxmox?
No this is not on the roadmap and it is not necessary.
You have to use the lun as local blockdev as you did,
Then install an LVM on to of this dev mark it as shared and then you can do a migration.

Hello Wolfgang,

Thank you, I will try this a little later this morning.

Have a good day,

Al