1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not all nodes showing up in web of all nodes

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by 1nerdyguy, Mar 13, 2017.

  1. 1nerdyguy

    1nerdyguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just added a new machine to our cluster, but it's not showing up in the web gui for all nodes. If I go to say node C or D, all 6 show up, but if I go to node A, only A-E show up and no F.

    I ssh'd into some of the nodes, and noticed their /etc/hosts doesn't have all the nodes there either. What can I do to fix?

    Long story: I added 3 new nodes to my cluster as an upgrade, and will be killing off the 3 oldest soon. But in the meantime I have all 6 running, but not all 6 show up to eachother.
     
  2. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    129
    Hi,

    pleas check if the corosync.conf on all nodes are the same.

    it is located /etc/pve/corosync.conf
    Also check pvecm status on all nodes.
     
  3. plofkat

    plofkat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same issue.

    Last node added does not show on web interface, however it does show up in corosync.conf and pvecm status
     
  4. gijsbert

    gijsbert New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    same issue here, the last node added is not visible in the webinterface. pvecm status and corosync.conf are ok and the same on all nodes.
     
  5. gijsbert

    gijsbert New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you find a solution for this issue?
     
  6. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    15,632
    Likes Received:
    193
    Please check if pvestatd service ir running on all nodes:

    # systemctl status pvestatd.service

    And verify that all configured storages are accessible:

    # pvesm status
     
  7. astnwt

    astnwt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for digging up this old thread, but we experience the exact same situation.

    The cluster consists of 4 nodes.
    Node 1 only shows cluster members 1, 2 and 3
    All the other nodes show all cluster members (1, 2, 3 and 4).

    As you might have guessed, node 4 was added last.

    The problem is limited to the graphical web user interface,
    pvesm status,
    systemctl status pvestatd.service,
    pvecm status and corosync.conf are all in perfect shape.

    I also had a look at "pvesh get cluster/config/nodes", which allegedly feeds the
    web interface - even on node 1 it shows all the other cluster members, it's JUST
    the web interface that won't display it to the point where I can't create a container on
    node 4 when I'm connected to the web UI on node 1 (drop-down box is missing node 4),
    but I can do this on any other node.

    Latest updates installed (paid update channel) as of this writing,
    not rebooted the member yet.
     
  8. gijsbert

    gijsbert New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    There might be 3 things (or a combination of these 3)

    1) check SSL
    ==========

    First check if ssl-certificates are ok, from a good node check:

    grep pve-ssl /var/log/syslog

    If certificates are ok, what you can do on all nodes (at least I can) at the same time is:

    2) restarting services
    ================

    # stopping services
    for s in pveproxy spiceproxy pvestatd; do /etc/init.d/$s stop; done

    # stopping cluster
    /etc/init.d/pve-cluster stop
    or (depending on version)
    systemctl stop pve-cluster

    # stopping corosync
    service corosync stop
    # check if corosync really stopped
    ps uxaw | grep corosync
    # if not, just kill it
    killall -9 corosync

    # restarting cluster
    service corosync start
    /etc/init.d/pve-cluster start
    or (depending on version)
    systemctl start pve-cluster

    # check if everything is ok
    pvecm status
    pvecm nodes

    # start services
    for s in pvestatd spiceproxy pveproxy; do /etc/init.d/$s start; done

    3) sqlite
    ======

    If 1 or 2 does not work, it might be a problem with the sqlite database. Even though /etc/pve contains the correct information, it is not the "real" configuration. The real configuration is in a sqlite database inside:

    /var/lib/pve-cluster/config.db*

    Usually it contains of 3 files:

    config.db
    config.db-shm
    config.db-wal (Write-Ahead-Log)

    You can take the sqlite database from a good node and put it on the node not in the cluster:

    step 1: stop pve-cluster and corosync on both nodes so the sqlite-database is not in use. Then you will only see 1 file (config.db)
    step 2: from the good node, copy the database to the other node: rsync -az /var/lib/pve-cluster/config.db root@<hostname_not_in_cluster>:/var/lib/pve-cluster/
    step 3: on both nodes start corosync and pve-cluster.

    Regards, Gijsbert
     

Share This Page