NFS inside Proxmox Server

Imilah

Aug 9, 2016
Hi everyone, I'm new in High Availability world and I choose proxmox as my first try. I only have 2 nodes and no shared storage. I just install this 2 nodes with Proxmox 4.x and successfully create a cluster for those. My next plan is making a High Availability. I read every documentation and that lead me to create dedicated shared storage. I have an idea to mount some storage to one of my nodes and create it as an NFS. Is it possible? Or my idea is the worst idea ever? Thank you.

Hi,
I think better is to have dedicated machine with shared storage via nfs. When for example you do nodes maintenace
you can restart nodes without hassle.

DP

Hi Imilah,

what you describe was common in the VMware with a storage appliance, that does exactly that. That works, but is not the best way to do things.

With two nodes, you should create a DRBD setup. However, HA is not possible due to the need of a third node. Yet you can still create a cluster and play around, but automatic failover is not possible.

We use for storage dedicated server, also with proxmox. For storage in big environment we use only PVE with ZFS and 10gbit.

Hi,
I think better is to have dedicated machine with shared storage via nfs. When for example you do nodes maintenace
you can restart nodes without hassle.

DP

Hope I have one more machine to be an NSF.

Hi Imilah,

what you describe was common in the VMware with a storage appliance, that does exactly that. That works, but is not the best way to do things.

With two nodes, you should create a DRBD setup. However, HA is not possible due to the need of a third node. Yet you can still create a cluster and play around, but automatic failover is not possible.

So, when I create a DRBD, I will have two proxmox with redundant storage and VM, right? There will be 2 identic VM on different machine and manually I choose which one will be running, is it right? Or there is another way managing this two redundant machine