Newbie question

peterritter

Feb 24, 2021
Hi, I'm new to Proxmox and I'm already about to give up and go back to hyper-V :-( I'm having problems setting up a VM/drive. I think there are two issues. First, my computer has two RAID drives - one drive in RAID 1 (2 disks mirrored) and another in RAID5 (3 disks) . But in Proxmox I see all 5 physical disks (sda ...sde), but not my Raid drives. So that is confusing. Is there something I should have different during installation? The server is a small HP Proliant machine.

The second problem is that when I try to create some space on one of my disks it gives me the follwing error:

pvcreate '/dev/sde' error: 1 existing signature left on the device

Do I need to format these drives before doing anything?

Another issues is that the installation created a PVE on /dev/sda3 and it is 97% full (465GB) - I don't see how it would be completely full. It's pretty confusing. Maybe somebody can point me to the right documentation.

Thanks advance!

Hi, I'm new to Proxmox and I'm already about to give up and go back to hyper-V :-( I'm having problems setting up a VM/drive. I think there are two issues. First, my computer has two RAID drives - one drive in RAID 1 (2 disks mirrored) and another in RAID5 (3 disks) . But in Proxmox I see all 5 physical disks (sda ...sde), but not my Raid drives. So that is confusing. Is there something I should have different during installation? The server is a small HP Proliant machine.
Are you talking about hardware raid or software raid like pools you create in windows? If you see all 5 drives it sounds like software raid. With hardware raid you should normally only see 2 drives.
The second problem is that when I try to create some space on one of my disks it gives me the follwing error:
pvcreate '/dev/sde' error: 1 existing signature left on the device
Do I need to format these drives before doing anything?
Yes, these should be fresh without partitions.