[SOLVED] Newbie Question

Astraea

Renowned Member
Aug 25, 2018
I have been thinking about deploying PMG on my network and have read many forum posts and also the manual but still not sure it will do what I am hoping it will. Here are my newbie questions, I have been using ProxmoxVE for 3 years now but have yet to really dive into the PMG.

1. Can I setup PMG to accept all incoming mail for a domain and forward it to a specific email address? For example, let us say my domain is example.com and I want to forward all email to username@testsite.com which is on an externally hosted email server. Is this possible?

2. Can I have all outgoing mail go through PMG but also have mail sent from PMG that is not associated with an email server? What I mean is let us say I have example.com hosted on a Zimbra installation. I would have it so that PMG would process all the outgoing mail for that domain from that server. But can I also have PMG process mail from say an internal website that it sending mail to update me if something breaks, such as emails sent from my Nextcloud installation?

3. Could I use PMG to allow me to send different mail to different servers without having to change any settings at my registrar or an existing downstream email server? What I would like to do is say I have PMG handling 2 domains, we will call them example.com and example2.com. If I wanted to test a new mail server or test updates can I just log in to PMG and redirect all mail for example2.com to the new server? This would help me out a ton for testing as I have an unused domain but also when upgrading mail servers as I could just flip the switch so to speak when everything is ready on the new install.