Newbie: a couple of storage-related questions

gctwnl

Aug 24, 2022
I'm a newbie to Linux management (I've been doing low level (macOS) Unix for years, so I'm not totally new to unix-like stuff) as well as managing my own virtualisation setup. I am reading, searching and learning while setting up my new server environment on an Intel NUC with PVE and Ubuntu clients. My apologies for the long post/questions but I thought it best to give as much information to prevent a lot of misunderstandings.

So, far I've been able to install PVE and setup an initial Ubuntu client, purely on the internal NVMe of the NUC. I've also been able to add a USB RAID enclosure and have it encrypted and mounted (at boot) in PVE's Debian. That means that my block devices now look like this:

Code:
root@pve:~# lsblk
NAME                                          MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE  MOUNTPOINT
sda                                             8:0    0   1.7T  0 disk 
└─sda1                                          8:1    0   1.7T  0 part 
  └─luks-fa1483bd-f599-4dcf-9732-c09069472150 253:7    0   1.7T  0 crypt /mnt/RNAStore4
nvme0n1                                       259:0    0 931.5G  0 disk 
├─nvme0n1p1                                   259:1    0  1007K  0 part 
├─nvme0n1p2                                   259:2    0   512M  0 part  /boot/efi
└─nvme0n1p3                                   259:3    0   931G  0 part 
  ├─pve-swap                                  253:0    0     8G  0 lvm   [SWAP]
  ├─pve-root                                  253:1    0    96G  0 lvm   /
  ├─pve-data_tmeta                            253:2    0   8.1G  0 lvm   
  │ └─pve-data-tpool                          253:4    0 794.8G  0 lvm   
  │   ├─pve-data                              253:5    0 794.8G  1 lvm   
  │   └─pve-vm--100--disk--0                  253:6    0    32G  0 lvm   
  └─pve-data_tdata                            253:3    0 794.8G  0 lvm