New to Proxmox, and need some advice.

Chuckle123

Jul 2, 2022
I am new to Proxmox. I have set it up on a laptop and created a few VMs on the same HD. I have just been testing out the basics. I have a question that I need a bit of help with, and I would greatly appreciate any feedback I can get.

My current setup
- Desktop which I use for gaming and work.
- I run my work environments in VMs using VMWare Workstation Pro.

I would like to change over to Proxmox, but to use a single machine I would need to dedicate my desktop to Proxmox. I have no issue switching to Debian with Cinnamon installed after the fact. Outside of gaming, most of my daily stuff can easily be accomplished in Linux.

Questions
- Running W10/11 as a VM will I get the same FPS using GPU passthrough? (An artivle I read said it's very close to using the GPU with regular W10/11 install.)
- Will I get the best remote experience using Spice? (Spice appears to be recommended due to it's features.)
- VMWare has shared folders to easily share folders between VMs. What's the best way to mimic this in Proxmox? (A couple of articles recommended standard network shares.)
- Is this an acceptable setup, or is it advised to just just keep my desktop for gaming and get a mini pc for Proxmox and work VMs?

Thanks,
ce

Last edited:
Hi,

In one answer, if you've a good level comprehension of Linux OS, you can install proxmox from scratch and found many tutorial for each step you need for each fonctionnality.
If not, stay on Win OS for your gaming computer, and continue to use VM for Linux task.

For gpu_passthrough, you need to enderstand really goodly storage, memory usage and cpu threads for get a compliant windows VM gpu_passthrough

Questions
- Running W10/11 as a VM will I get the same FPS using GPU passthrough? (An artivle I read said it's very close to using the GPU with regular W10/11 install.)