New build feedback - first time homelab

ccsimmons

May 26, 2024
I donated an old PC I had, and needed to keep some data. What started with me looking at some NAS systems turned into "Why not just build a server"

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/9JvJ4M

There are a lot of drives here. I wanted to fill up a motherboard. Capped the ram because I can. I'm mindful of budget but it's not the main concern. This is for fun, learning, labbing, and storing.

I guess the feedback I'm looking for is:
  • if there's anything that stands out that I should change
  • Should I add a video card / integrated graphics chip
  • how efficient my budget is - trying to stay under $2k
  • Any obvious upgrades?
  • uses for PCIE slots?
As for what my plans are for this:
  • I want to obviously have at least one file server with mirrored HDD.
  • Probably build a media server (I assume this is where I want some graphics)
  • Set up a windows domain lab - something I've wanted for awhile, I've been an IT pro for >10 years and never had a real 0 consequences lab
  • plenty of room to run as many linux servers as I can think of.

Your chosen board has 4 m.2 slots but you only specified 3 NVMe drives? I would probably select something other than 1TB NVMe and SSD drives. I would put the operating system on a pair of 128 or 256 gb SSDs (or NVMe drives, but Proxmox won't benefit from the OS being on an NVMe) in a mirror. I would put the VMs in a pair of 2 or 4 TB NVMe drives, also in a mirror. I probably wouldn't fill all of the NVMe slots, just because you don't really need to. I would also probably go with 4 of the Exos drives and set them up in RaidZ1 or RaidZ2