networking help,

stxrlite

Mar 13, 2023
so i ordered a dedicated server and had proxmox installed, fresh install i am struggling on the bridge, trying to get the windows vms conected to internet1678726492367.png

Hi, as far as I understood, I am a newbie, but vmbr0 (linux bridge) should have all the configuration that you configured in enp5s0f0 and port slaves should have configured only enp5s0f0.

1678787632625.png

Attachments

• 1678726798750.png
    1678726798750.png
    16.3 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:
Hello,

did you install the Proxmox host yourself or is this a dedicated server with pre-configured settings? You seem to have a public IP address there.

A configuration like in your screenshot indicates that there is (should be) a NAT-Setup between your vmbr0 and enp5s0f0 interfaces, but the GUI won't give us enough information. Can you post the content of your /etc/network/interfaces file?

Oh, and try to mask your public IP (XXX.XXX.XXX.151/26), because you never know who else reads this public forum.

Hi, as far as I understood, I am a newbie, but vmbr0 (linux bridge) should have all the configuration that you configured in enp5s0f0 and port slaves should have configured only enp5s0f0.
You are right, but that is good only for a basic Proxmox configuration (like, inside your LAN). This server is reachable from the internet, so we need a bit more configuration here. (else the VMs connected to vmbr0 too need - expensive - public IP adresses).

Kind regards,
Benedikt

Hello,

did you install the Proxmox host yourself or is this a dedicated server with pre-configured settings? You seem to have a public IP address there.

A configuration like in your screenshot indicates that there is (should be) a NAT-Setup between your vmbr0 and enp5s0f0 interfaces, but the GUI won't give us enough information. Can you post the content of your /etc/network/interfaces file?