Network setup for OpenWRT router VM

strongbad

May 10, 2023
I am totally new to Proxmox, but have experience with Linux and KVM based VMs. For my home install, I want to virtualize a OpenWRT (or maybe OPNSense) router. The Proxmox host has 2 wired controllers and a WiFi controller. One wired controller will will be connected directly to my cable modem and the other to a managed switch. The router will be configured with a handful of VLANs (e.g., home, work, guest, IoT) and will be in charge of managing the WiFi controller. I would like the other Proxmox VMs network data to be VLAN tagged.

Once I get the correct interfaces into the router VM, I think I will be good to go. What I am struggling with is how to setup the bridges on the host. I am hoping this is not that crazy and that someone has done this before and has a nice writeup, but if that is the case, I can't find it.

Enable the "vlan aware" checkbox for your bridges. You then can edit your virtio NICs and set a VLAN Tag there (so the NIC will be part of that single VLAN) or keep that VLAN tag field empty in which case the virtio NIC will let all tagged packets through (no matter what VLAN it is tagged with) where you then have to manage VLANs inside the VM. See here for en example: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Network_Configuration#sysadmin_network_vlan

Do you recommend a bridge for both the wan and the lan interfaces? The wan interface will only be used by the router VM, so I think I could just use the interface without a bridge. I think I could also use passthrough to provide both the physical lan and/or wan devices to the router VM and then create a bridge on the host that is not associated with a physical device (I think).

@Dunuin is mostly correct. Assuming you know about trunk ports, what I have seen in proxmox (behavior wise) is that if the trunk port has a native vlan specified then the nics of whatever is connected to that trunk port (via its bridge) inherits that native vlan when no vlan is set.