[SOLVED] Network dies constantly

Eraser

Sep 17, 2019
I have a newly build server with a fresh installation of Proxmox VE 6.0. I am totally new at this by the way.
The installation went fine but the network of the host keeps dying randomly. I haven't even got any VM's yet, its just a fresh installation. I can force the problem by uploading a large ISO template. The upload never makes it to the end. When the problem happens the server seems to go offline. Ping gets a timeout. On the host itself I can't even ping the gateway any more. I can only ping the hosts own IP address. To temporary solve the problem I run the following commands:

Bash:
ifdown vmbr0
ifup vmbr0

After that I am online for some time until the problem hits again. I have searched the logs but there seem to be no messages related to the problem. The interface says its state is UP. It's a wired connection by the way. No wireless connections are involved.

lspci shows me that this is my NIC:
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 15)

The only related problem is that sometimes I see a message at the console telling me about a PCIe Bus Error. For example:
Code:
[2397.331074] nvme 0000:01:00.0 PCIe Bus Error: severity=Uncorrected (Non-Fatal), type=Transaction Layer, (Roquester ID)
[2397.331387] nvme 0000:01:00.0 device (144d: a808) error status/mask=00004000/00400000
[2397.331691] nvme 0000101:00.01 [14] Cmpit TO               (First)
That one says something about "nvme" but I have seen others like "pcieport".
I have tried kernel options like pci=nomsi, pci=noaer and pcie_aspm=off but they didn't change much. nomsi broke Proxmox so that definitely wasn't an option.

What can I do to find the problem? Am I overlooking something that kills my LAN connection?

[update]
I have installed net-tools and ifconfig shows me this:
root@pve:~# ifconfig
enp5s0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500