NetApp & ProxMox VE

DatacenterDude

Apr 24, 2024
Hello ProxMox enthusiasts!

My name is Nick Howell, and I am the Global Field CTO at NetApp. I've spent the last 6 years helping get our cloud storage offerings online, but from 2006-2011 I was a datacenter admin, and then joined NetApp in 2011 to help lead their virtualization efforts around VMware, KVM/RHEV, Hyper-V, and Xen. We wrote "best practices" configuration documentation for all of them and presented those solutions around the world.

With the recent news of Broadcom's pricing model changes I'm sure you're all mostly aware of, there has been a lot of buzz inside the walls of NetApp. Our stance is: we are Switzerland. We work with all hypervisors, young and old, and provide some of the best enterprise and SMB unified storage out there. And I am re-visiting my old virtualization haunt to reinvigorate NetApp's position as the best storage for virt.

One of the names that has come up constantly for the last 9 months? ProxMox.

Unfortunately, we do not have a lot of experience with it, as traditionally there has not been a huge demand for it within the Enterprise sector. Every hypervisor has it's nuances, and I know ProxMox is no different. As a homelabber, I have dabbled, and plan on making some YouTube content connecting it to NetApp storage and beginning the process of developing some best practices for configuring it for best performance, stability, and resilience.

I'm here to humbly ask... How can I help? AMA. What would you like to see NetApp deliver for you to up-level your storage capabilities?

As an example, one of our partners in Germany, Credativ, recently configured our lightning-fast NVMe storage with ProxMox and wrote up a guided tour. I want to do something similar for FC, NFS, and iSCSI, and just general configuration best practices for working with ONTAP, our operating system.