Need help with some initial setup decisions

kibuyeit

Oct 3, 2022
TLDR; novice needs help with a setup for a charity hospital in rural Africa

Greetings,
So a bit of a primer: I'm a surgeon, not an IT professional. Unfortunately, I'm also one of the most technically capable individuals at my hospital in rural Burundi. There is a national push toward electronic health records and we are slowly trying to put in place the necessary pieces of hardware to make that possible. I just finished setting up a Unifi network with 30 access points using a netgate box for pfsense/pfblockerng firewall/filtration. The network is running well. It's currently set up with infrastructure on VLAN1, admin devices connected to VLAN 10, staff and medical students to VLAN 20, and an after-business hours open network on VLAN30 which are all currently completely isolated from one another. Our 6 MB/s connection (yes only 6) is now useable despite all of the concurrent users.

Here's what I have on hand to configure for our server:

Dell PowerEdge 720xd
2x Xenon E5-2670 8 core
24x 8GB ram (192GB total)
H710P mini raid controller w/ 1GB cache
4 port gbit NIC
4x 2TB Hitachi SAS drives
4x 4TB Seagate EXOS SATA drives
2x 240GB SSDs

Here's what we plan to use:

1 Ubuntu VM to run the electronic health record - OpenClinic GA
1 Ubuntu VM to run an imaging server for our digital xray and ultrasound images - Orthanc
1 Ubuntu VM to run a file server, print server, and any other less mission critical services

Theoretical number of concurrent users:
~35 doctors
~62 nurses
~20 ancillary staff
(caveat emptor - we have nowhere near this many computers available, many if not most of our staff do not have their own devices to bring to the table, and we are constantly trying to hire more staff to meet the needs of our hospital. It's constantly in flux but on any given weekday we have around 80 employees on site.)