Need help: Multi OS Guest setup

mrish

Apr 7, 2023
Hi,

Noob here, so please be gentle :)

I had the following requirements:
  • MacOS: To run simpler apps for browsing, email, Python programming, etc.
  • Linux: To experiment with multiple distros and perform Python development. This requires a good CPU but GPU is not needed.
  • Win 11: For casual gaming.

Initially, I experimented with a 'dual-boot' setup as below using intel 12th Gen 12400, 16GB RAM, Nvidia 1650 Super(bought for $$$ during the 'mining-menace' times):
  1. Bare-metal installation of Windows 11 on a 512GB SSD NVME SSD for casual (1080p/1440p) gaming.
  2. Proxmox installation on second 120GB SSD as the boot-drive and additional 240GB SSD for VMs to run linux & MacOS distros

While this kinda served my purpose, it isn't ideal for reasons below:
  • No raid configuration for Proxmox boot drive.
  • Risk of some Windows update corrupting my entire Proxmox boot setup some day (I heard this the main reason people perform the new-way installs using Proxmox).
  • No ECC RAM
  • Pls. let me know if there are others :)

I have the following queries:
  • For 'A' above: Would it be enough to use another identical SSD to add RAID 1 configuration for Proxmox boot? Do I also need to consider RAID separately for storage drives running the VMs?
  • For 'B' above: Is it possible to passthrough an entire SSD & Nvidia GPU to Proxmox, only for running Windows 11? If yes, what kind of performance hit should I expect in percentage terms? 5-10%?
  • For 'C': Is it an absolute necessity to go with ECC RAM?
  • As this was an experiment, I want to start with a clean slate again, so please share your recommendations for:
  1. Processor - I am considering 12th/13th Gen i7, can go with Ryzen as well
  2. GPU - Not sure, but I experienced issues with Nvidia on linux.
  3. RAM
Cheers,