mysql databases in VM backups

Faris Raouf

Mar 19, 2018
Is there any special handling of mysql databases required when using PBS to backup VMs via PVE?

Keeping in mind that I'm no mysql expert (and not a backup expert either!):

With Acronis backups, which need a client installed in the VM, a freeze script is launched that I think freezes mysql tables while /var/lib/mysql is backed up, then thaws them. At any rate it does a "flushes tables with read lock" at some point.

With PBS, which requires no client for VMs, obviously this doesn't happen.

I'm therefore wondering what happens when PBS (and for that matter vzbackup) backups up /var/lib/mysql. Is there potential for inconsistency in the backup?
We do regular mysqldumps in the VMs at the moment, but not daily.

Reactions: abien
just like for regular vzdump, it depends on the mode the backup is run in:

stop mode
This mode provides the highest consistency of the backup, at the cost of a short downtime in the VM operation. It works by executing an orderly shutdown of the VM, and then runs a background Qemu process to backup the VM data. After the backup is started, the VM goes to full operation mode if it was previously running. Consistency is guaranteed by using the live backup feature.

suspend mode
This mode is provided for compatibility reason, and suspends the VM before calling the snapshot mode. Since suspending the VM results in a longer downtime and does not necessarily improve the data consistency, the use of the snapshot mode is recommended instead.

snapshot mode
This mode provides the lowest operation downtime, at the cost of a small inconsistency risk. It works by performing a Proxmox VE live backup, in which data blocks are copied while the VM is running. If the guest agent is enabled (agent: 1) and running, it calls guest-fsfreeze-freeze and guest-fsfreeze-thaw to improve consistency.