My first install of Proxmox 8.2 on an Intel NUC - no success

jolene

May 21, 2024
I want to share my experience so far with Proxmox 8.2-1. I bough an intel NUC to install it. Setup the BIOS and used latest version.

Downloaded the ISO, verified checksum, flashed 3 USB sticks with the command from the documentation:
`dd bs=1M conv=fdatasync if=./proxmox-ve_8.2-1.iso of=/dev/sdX`

1. I am trying to use the Graphical install since I am a beginner. WIth a chance of 40% it will fail to load X11 with `Bus error`, `X Server Temporarily Unavailable ` I just rebooted and it works.

Then I pass the whole wizard, with network configuration, root password, asf, confirm. Everytime I get different errors:

2. First a libgfrpg0_10.3+5_amd64.deb fails with `lzma error: compressed data corrupt`. I try another new flash drive with the image flashed with dd again. This time I get:

3. Command `unsquashfs -f -dest /target -i /cdrom/pve-base.squashfs` failed with exit code 1 at /usr/share/perl5/Proxmox/install.pm line 908`. Output:

Code:
umount: /target/run: not mounted.
umount: /target/tmp/pkg: no mount point specified.
umount: /target/tmp: not mounted.
umount: /target/proc: not mounted.
umount: /target/sys/firmware/efi/efivars: no mount point specified.
umount: /target/sys: not mounted
(II) AIGLX: Suspending AIGLX clients for VT switch

I am trying to understand what is going on but with no success. Does someone has an idea?

It tried Balena Etcher on different USB sticks, same it failed in some other .deb (librados2_17.2.7-pve3_amd64.deb).
I also run full suite of Memtest86 and 0 errors on my memory modules.

Getting even more hopeless.

Try re-downloading the iso as torrent

The latest 8.2 is only ~1.3GB, can you try actually burning it to a DVD and boot from that?

Honestly I don't trust random usb sticks anymore, either I Ventoy boot from a known-good Kanguru USB3 with a physical write-protect switch or just use an sd card with an adapter.