Migrating VirtualBox WordPress installation to Proxmox

Bitbyte

Nov 13, 2019
Hey guys. Not entirely sure what's happening here, maybe someone can help out. Before beginning, I'll note that this is my first time using Proxmox.

I currently have Ubuntu Server 18 installed in a Virtualbox VM on my windows 10 pc. It's a fully configured LAMP server with a WordPress installation. Everything's been up and running smoothly for well over 2 months.

I also have a FreeNAS server that's sitting on extra hardware it's not using. My idea was to run a ProxMox hypervisor to run both VMs off the single machine.

After migrating the .VDI file from my windows PC to ProxMox, I had some network woes that took a bit of solving, but when I inspected my website it defaulted back to the default index.php.
I checked the contents of my Webroot directory (var/www/website) and there were no files - the entire WordPress installation is gone!
I booted the virtualbox vm to check and everything was there - intact and working properly.

What gives? How could the WordPress installation be missing when migrating?
I literally did a copy and paste the vdi in winscp.

Usually I'd have some hint of what's happening but I haven't the slightest of clue. I really hope someone can help.

maybe you had your wordpress install on an external disk and forgot to migrate it?

Thanks for the quick reply.
To migrate I simple copied the vdi file from my windows 10 pc and uploaded it to the root directory of my Proxmox, then installed via WINSCP. I then selected that file as the bootable disk and was greeted with my Ubuntu server install.

I'm confident I didn't forget any directories; I copied the co olete vdi file to Proxmox, and even though the WordPress installation is gone, all of my files elsewhere are intact. As stated, I booted up virtualbox with that vm to confirm the directories and everything is where it should be.