[SOLVED] Maximum number of logical volumes (12) reached in volume group pve

NGNear

Jun 29, 2019
Hi all,

I am very new to the Proxmox scene (and Hypervisation in general), and I find it quite easy to figure out how to do stuff most of the time by following the Proxmox forum and general KVM tutorials.

2 days ago, I finally decided to wipe my XCP-NG powered laptop and load it with Proxmox. It was a clean install, so it was quite easy to add it to my cluster.

But I quickly run into the error message described in the title as I try to take snapshots or create VM:
Code:
TASK ERROR: lvcreate 'pve/vm-104-state-fight' error:   Maximum number of logical volumes (12) reached in volume group pve
Code:
TASK ERROR: unable to create VM 106 - lvcreate 'pve/vm-106-disk-0' error:   Maximum number of logical volumes (12) reached in volume group pve

As the error message indicated, I have 12 logical volumes, like below:
Bash:
root@laptop:~# lvs
  LV                                           VG  Attr       LSize    Pool Origin        Data%  Meta%  Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
  data                                         pve twi-aotz-- <467.14g                    21.27  1.41                       
  root                                         pve -wi-ao----   96.00g                                                       
  snap_vm-104-disk-1_TimeMachineAndNetworkDisk pve Vri---tz-k   32.00g data vm-104-disk-1                                   
  swap                                         pve -wi-ao----    7.00g                                                       
  vm-102-disk-0                                pve Vwi-aotz--   52.00m data               100.00                             
  vm-102-disk-1                                pve Vwi-aotz--   32.00g data               100.00                             
  vm-102-disk-2                                pve Vwi-aotz--   32.00g data               100.00