LXC Containers vs VM vs FreeNAS/OMV

MarcMorgan

Feb 5, 2021
Hi All,

I want to thank anyone who takes the time to read and assist on this.

My current setup

Dell R710 2x Intel Xeon E5520 (2.27Ghz) - 48GB RAM (soon to be 64GB)
8x900GB SAS drives (7.2TB)
1 HDD for Torrents/Downloads
2 HDDs for CCTV storage (Separate PC for CCTV) - PC links to this HDD via ONV and now FreeNAS (both on Proxmox) for share access
2 HDDs (each one for Business storage (again pass through with ONV/ and now FreeNAS)
1 HDD is for VMs/LXC Containers for Proxmox

Basically i have been using Proxmox for around 6 months now and enjoying it so much but i feel my configuration is a little off only due to lack of knowledge and experience on setting things up.

I currently have 15 VMs (0x Containers) - not all in use but most of Windows test boxes for work purpose but hardly powered on
2 VMs are for Windows machines which I need as one is for a Business and one is for Work (which these are fine)
Now I also have VMs (Windows) for Plex/Torrents (which in Sonarr/Radarr/Bit-Torrent/SabdNZB)
I also have OVM setup just for the purpose of a NAS storage for my plex-data

The issue I im running into is RAM usage (i know this may improve once i upgrade and allocating more RAM where needed but i feel and have read i can place some of these services into containers which will use less resources.

I would like to have/learn (guides if possible) a container for all in one or separate containers for Sonarr/Radarr/Sabnzb/Plex

ATM i have been using passthrough with my drives (each 800GB used for a different purpose) to OMV (Plex - file ext is ntfs/et4) and the others are passed through via OMV/now FreeNAS

Now im sure i could use zfs storage within Promox to save going through so many paths) but not sur eon how to do this properly

I guess my question after all this is:

Can i setup a container for all in one or a container for each instance for Sonarr/Radarr/SabdNZB/Plex