[SOLVED] Lost Connections with VMs

M.R

Aug 23, 2019
Hi, I'm new in the forum, I had been working with Proxmox for about 3/4 years so far without problems.

Since a few Months ago I have a trouble with 2 virtual servers running in a Host with proxmox 5.4-13 , this Host was upgrade from promox 3, to version 4 and finally to the version 5 following the instructions of the "How To" from Proxmox Wiki

Now, the problem is this, there are 2 running server and both lose network connection from a few second to a few minutes at random time. I mean, I'm working...lose connection, no ping, no VNC console...then a few minutes all return to normal. Sometimes both server at same time and sometimes 1 server down and the other server have connection, as I said above, it's random.

In my firts test, to discard a fisical problem, I tried to add a new patch cord and configured a new Bridge connection, then move the servers from vmbr0 to vmbr1 but the problem persist.

Then I created a new virtual server put it online and launch an uninterrupted ping to the new created server, to the management IP of the Proxmox Host and to the failing servers, I let run the ping all over the weekend. When I check the log the ping to the Host and to the new server never lost a packet, but the pings to the 2 servers lost packets with "unreachable destination" or "timeout connection" or both.

I had already apply all updates availables to the Proxmox host too.

I have been thinking in backup the VMs and reinstall Proxmox from the latest version then restore the VMs, but this may take to long and this servers are in production.

I need any suggestions to avoid this last option.

Thanks in advance.

check the logs of the systems, when they are not reachable - I could imagine that there is an issue with your cluster traffic (just a wild initial guess)

I hope this helps!