load VMs from an old Drive to my new proxmox

esferoscar

Jan 17, 2021
hi guys, i have re installed proxmox in my server, it can see the drives and in the content there are the old VMs but i dont know how can import the VMs from the disk, and turn on one of them.

1610858902088.png

i need to turn on the highlight machine, how can i do that?

thx in advance.

Those are only your VM disks.
Your VM configuration is missing / not there.
Option 1: rebuild VM config
Option 2: get VM configs from your old system (/etc/PVE/qemu-server)

thx a lot for you promp reply tburger, but i am really new in this topic, could you give a guide how can i do these option? i have checked the path but there are only the new VMs configs, i guess it would be easier if i can see the same path ("old disk" /etc/PVE/quemu-server) but i cant see that content in the old hard disk, how can do that buddy?

thx alot of

...only the new VMs configs
You would need to check your old system. Of course on your new system only the new VM configs are stored in this place.

... i cant see that content in the old hard disk
Of course you cant, because that path isn't stored in that place. Only the disks of your VMs is stored in this place.
, how can do that buddy
You need to note your VM IDs (you can get those from your existing disk).
Then create a VM with the corresponding ID and you should be able to attach the existing disks from your (legacy) storage.
PVE relies on these IDs to identify the components that belong to a VM.

HTH. Good luck

There's no way to attach existing virtual hard drives via the gui - as far as I know

My advice would be

1. create a VM with and ID of XXX which has the same specs as the original virtual machine (or as close as you can remember) except for the virtual hard drive which just needs to be on the same storage and using the same emulation (IDE/Virtio/SCSI etc) - size does not matter just make it a few gigs.