Limited pcie slots, 10Gb SPF+ OR NVME + 2.5Gb

Mistborn

Jan 16, 2023
Have a low budget Proxmox build I've been running for a few months.

Acer Aspire i3-10105, 16gb ram (non ECC, MB doesn't support ECC)

8TB WD Red x2 zfs mirror for main storage

2TB x2 Teamgroup m34 nvme ZFS mirror for PE install and VMs

This MB only has one pcie 16x slot, and one pcie 1x. Currently have pcie nvme using the 16 slot, 1x is empty.

Uses: OMV lxc, Plex lxc, windows VM with homeseer and blue iris (8 wifi cams so far), pi hole lxc, soon to add omada controller lxc

I am upgrading my network from deco x20s to Omada gear. Switch has 8x 2.5Gbe and 2x 10Gb SPF+.

What would you do?
Just add 2.5Gb pciex1 card. Easiest option but doesn't take advantage of the new SPF+ links

Add 10Gb SPF card. Would have to remove the pcie nvme. Either running the remaining drive without a mirror or changing hardware. I don't think I could do zfs mirror the nvme to a USB nvme drive? What other options?

Internet is not limited by 1Gbe connections. So the 10Gbe speed will only help internal traffic. Right now I get connection issues and buffering from Plex streams and the IP cameras, but the deco units are less than stellar and all being replaced by omada APs.

Leaning towards just using a 2.5 Gbe card for the server and I will have the 10Gb links for down the road if I ever upgrade to a proper server and/or get faster internet. Maybe I can use the 1Gbe connector for just my IP cams and the 2.5 for everything else, but I have blueiris and homeseer in the same VM so not sure I could separate them like that without adding a separate windows VM.

Proxmox has been a fun adventure so far, I knew absolutely zero about Linux when starting so it's been a big learning process.