[SOLVED] Just updated, no longer booting, stuck at "loading initial ramdisk"

proxcub

Jan 8, 2019
I've been running Proxmox for the last few months without issue. I applied the latest update last night and now Proxmox refuses to boot any futher than "Loading initial ramdisk"

Naturally I googled what that means and it seems a few people have been stuck at this point before, yet not of the solutions offered were relevant to me (ie. new hardware conflict) or a solution that I'm already using (use legacy mode instead of UEFI)

I'm at a loss as to what is causing this issue now after it's been running so smoothly for months.

Have you tried to boot the previous kernel? Does the issue persist also with that? What hardware are you running on?

Yep, first thing I tried was to use previous kernels. Still no go. I'm running Proxmox on a Gigabyte H270N motheboard with an i5-7500

Boot hangs at "loading initial ramdisk" ... I'm not a debian expert but I left Proxmox on default when installing so I think that would be ext4. Nope, no BIOS update or anything different. I just simply ran the latest update through the Proxmox GUI and then after a reboot it wouldn't start.. I plugged in a monitor to see what the problem was and that's the only thing I can see. No error, nothing .. just stuck at "loading initial ramdisk"

You can try to get to a rescue shell as mentioned by the provided link. If you can't reach a rescue shell your initramfs is probably corrupt.

Assuming it's corrupt as you say since I was unable to boot into rescue shell. Is there a way to reinstall Proxmox without losing all VM and LXC data on the disk?

You can try to boot into the rescue mode from CD, using the proxmox iso.