Is Proxmox Mail right for me?

AGo

Dec 9, 2010
Hi everybody,

I´m currently thinking about setting up a new Mail system, but I have never worked
with proxmox before so I wonder if you could assist me if the whole deal I have in mind
is doable and feasible. As I am only a student I have no budget for paying license fees though, so I am restricted to the OS variants.

I have a Core2Quad CPU and 8 Gig of RAM with 2*500 GB in Hardware-Raid1 on a 150MB/sec raid controller.

On the machine I would like to have proxmox installed with one VM running Win08 Server and Exchange 2010. Then I´d have one VM running the proxmox Mail Gateway and maybe 2 or 3 smaller VMs running simple LAMPs with low-load webpages.

Do you think I´d run in a performance issue with the exchange? It is only for private use so not more then 5 users with a total of like 50 mails a day.

Now I have like 30 pop3 accounts. Idealy I would like to have all these mails collected by the mail gateway, and then have the mail gateway check these mails and forward them to the exchange server where the users would collect them. Is this doable at all?

I am very experienced with Exchange but never really worked with fetchmail and theralike, any idea if that would work at all?

Thanks for your time,

AGo

Hi everybody,

I´m currently thinking about setting up a new Mail system, but I have never worked
with proxmox before so I wonder if you could assist me if the whole deal I have in mind
is doable and feasible. As I am only a student I have no budget for paying license fees though, so I am restricted to the OS variants.

I have a Core2Quad CPU and 8 Gig of RAM with 2*500 GB in Hardware-Raid1 on a 150MB/sec raid controller.

On the machine I would like to have proxmox installed with one VM running Win08 Server and Exchange 2010. Then I´d have one VM running the proxmox Mail Gateway and maybe 2 or 3 smaller VMs running simple LAMPs with low-load webpages.