Install problems with VE 7.2

ssspinball

May 19, 2022
I'm a newbie to Proxmox. Attempting to install on a Mac Mini 5,2 (mid-2011).

The first stumbling block when booting from the USB image is I have to use nomodeset. That gets me further but the initial boot stops at:
Starting the installer GUI see tty2 (CTRL+ALT+F2) for any errors Installation aborted - unable to continue. (type exit or CTRL-Q to reboot)

So then I dry debug mode and get to:
testing device /dev/sdb for ISO found Proxmox VE ISO Debugging mode (type exit or press CTRL-D to continue startup)

I cannot continue from here because the physically attached Magic Keyboard doesn't do anything. Typing does not make characters appear nor does CTRL-D do anything. The KB works just fine before the point that I trigger debug mode.

Any ideas? Screenshots attached.

Attachments

• IMG_6126.jpeg
    IMG_6126.jpeg
    101.3 KB · Views: 49
  • IMG_6127.jpeg
    IMG_6127.jpeg
    148.8 KB · Views: 46
It appears the Radeon HD 6630M doesn't have drivers and so X won't startup. Not sure how to work around this or if it's possible.

It does appear to be radeon drivers. I just tried to installed proxmox on a new host with a Radeon 6400 and got the same issues. When i moved the display out to the IPMI on my motherboard then it worked just fine and installed as normal. Option if you have said kind of board.

I have same problem.
I'm a newbie to Proxmox. Attempting to install on a Mac Mini 5,2 (mid-2011).

The first stumbling block when booting from the USB image is I have to use nomodeset. That gets me further but the initial boot stops at:
Starting the installer GUI see tty2 (CTRL+ALT+F2) for any errors Installation aborted - unable to continue. (type exit or CTRL-Q to reboot)

So then I dry debug mode and get to:
testing device /dev/sdb for ISO found Proxmox VE ISO Debugging mode (type exit or press CTRL-D to continue startup)