Install medium (usb) and trim support?

sonejaha33

May 11, 2019
Hello,
I'm completely new to Proxmox and have two questions:
  1. I want to install Proxmox on a usb stick (internal 3.0 A port on the mainboard). I don't know what kind of stick I should buy. It should last long. I guess proxmox will do a lot writing actions on that stick. Some poor sticks die very fast in that case... what is a good stick? And how big should it be? (I also have 2x M.2 SSDs on that board and wanted to use them as a mirror for the VMs and containers. Would it be better to install proxmox there instead of the usb-stick? I just thought on usb a reinstall would be easier.)
  2. I often read "Proxmox doesn't support TRIM oh my god we all gonna die". But all these sources where I read that is from 2017 or earlier. Does Proxmox meanwhile support TRIM on SSDs? (Couldn't find anything in the changelog so I guess no?)
Thanks!

hi,

I want to install Proxmox on a usb stick (internal 3.0 A port on the mainboard). I don't know what kind of stick I should buy. It should last long. I guess proxmox will do a lot writing actions on that stick. Some poor sticks die very fast in that case... what is a good stick? And how big should it be? (I also have 2x M.2 SSDs on that board and wanted to use them as a mirror for the VMs and containers. Would it be better to install proxmox there instead of the usb-stick? I just thought on usb a reinstall would be easier.)

do you mean you want to install it on a usb and use it as a liveusb with persistence or similar? because i'm not sure if that's a good idea since there will be a lot of i/o operations which a regular usb stick may do very slowly... why don't you install it on a regular disk instead?
the reinstall might be easier but you will have very bad performance overall

I often read "Proxmox doesn't support TRIM oh my god we all gonna die".