Importing VM from ESXi 5.1

WaelS

May 25, 2021
Hi
My installation is for home use and I am completely new to Proxmox. I have a Windows 8.1 machine with 2 virtual HDDs. I exported them to OVF which generated 4 files:
- Win8-DS1.mf
- Win8-DS1.ovf
- Win8-DS1-disk1.vmdk
- Win8-DS1-disk2.vmdk

From my windows machine, I created a folder Uploads on the root directory, then I used WinSCP to upload all of the above to the Uploads folder.
I then used the commands below to upload the files.
Code:
qm importdisk 100 Win8-DS1-disk1.vmdk local-lvm -format qcow2
qm importdisk 100 Win8-DS1-disk2.vmdk local-lvm -format qcow2

I then deleted the existing HDD from my newly created Proxmox VM with ID 100 and added those 2 virtual HDDs to it. I tried SCSI, SATA and IDE. None of them boots up. I even reversed which one is HDD0 and which is HDD1. I also made sure that the drives are setup in the boot order.

What am I missing? I figured I have to import something from the ovf file, but not sure if that is correct and how to do it.

Any help is appreciated. As I mentioned this is for home setup so I can't afford a subscription.
Thanks

PS: My setup was inspired by the link below

https://www.itsfullofstars.de/2019/...ontains the VM definition,the vm disk (vmdk).

Last edited:
Hi,

your are almost there :)
Upload your files you have got from VMware to the Proxmox host and run this command in the directory:
qm importovf 100 Win8-DS1.ovf local-lvm --format qcow2

This command creates a new VM with the ID 100 and imports the referenced vmdk disk from the .ovf file to your local-lvm storage as qcow2 format.

Windows needs additional drivers to use SCSI, so at the moment use SATA for your HDD.

Proxmox docs to migrate from VMware: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Migration_of_servers_to_Proxmox_VE#VMware

Greetz

Hi,

both importovf and importdisk should work. Roughly, importovf = (create VM + importdisk).